Is it as good as I remember? Depend Nail Polishes

 

This is a series where I review products that I once loved to find out if the product still delivers. The rules are simple: It must be at least a minimum of three years since the last time I used the product. This is just a response to the idea that personal taste changes and that what you once loved might no longer be to your preference.

20170626_025619.jpg

This is an old classic for me.

I remember my mom buying Depend nail polishes all the way back in the 90s and she would sometimes paint my nails, these small polishes are very likely the first beauty product I ever tried out in my life.

When I got older and started to earn my own money as a teenager, these were some of my favourite items to stock up on since they come in a great selection of colours and finishes, combine that with them being cheap and often on a buy 3 for the price of 2 sale and you have a product that is extremely affordable.

Although I never saw them as the perfect nail polishes I really did enjoy them since they were cheap, small and had an amazing selection of shades.

But the important question is what do I feel about them now?

 

Packaging

The packaging of these have changed over the years but currently they come housed in a tall but small glass bottle. They contain 5 ml of product.

One thing to note is that on the label at the front has a symbol that signifies whether the coverage is sheer or opaque.

Whenever I bought any of these I always make sure I write down the number of the shade, since the back label have a tendency to fade easily.

 

Shades

In this post I have done my best to try to showcase the variation of their line.

None of the shades in this line has any proper name just a number.

 

# 419

 

20170626_025643

20100113_104438

This is a lovely dark purple with both purple and small amounts of blue shimmers in it.

This shade needs to be shaken, which is just simply to turn the bottle down and up, in order for the pigments to blend before applying. The first time I used this it came out sheer on the first coat and in the second coat the polish became really thick and the end result was a little bit textured.

Second time I used this it was a little bit more even but it still requires two coats to be opaque. Something weird happened in my swatch photos here, they come off as a bit sheer but in irl these are opaque.

One thing I really like about this polish is that It can last for 4-6 days without chipping, which is very good.

20100113_103551.jpg

 

 

#494

 

20170626_025702

20170615_161011

I believe this is an effect nail polish. It contains opaque white glitters with some larger silver glitters in a clear base.

I love this polish best alone since I found it weird as a top coat.

Alone this is stunning because it does look like you have snow on your nails, you need to shake it and put on two coats for this to reveal it’s beauty. It is a nail polish that manages to stand out but still be “neutral” enough that you can wear it on any occasion.

It is beautiful and extremely long-lasting. I don’t know how long this can be worn without cracking. I wore this for almost two full weeks before removing it, it almost looked like it did when I first applied it only that the clear base had started to get a little bit”yellowish” as clear nail polishes can become after a while.

20170615_161035

Verdict

I can’t argue against the price, it is ridiculously low even for the amount you get.

The quality is not the best but it is far from bad, I would call it an average formula and to be fair I have bought more expensive nail polishes which still cracked after two days.

These tend to be a bit more stubborn in my experience and they can be difficult to remove.

I believe I will buy more of these in the future.

 

Thank you for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

