The Body Shop: Lip and Cheek Velvet Stick #Universal Poppy

This product to me is like a remnant of the chubby stick trend that was everywhere a couple of years ago. I don’t know about you but I was never a huge fan of the trend and I’m happy of its declination in popularity even though they sometimes pop up occasionally.

Which is why its strange that I like this product so much that I’ve gone through three of these in two years.

Picture 524.jpg

 

Packaging

The packaging is made of black but sturdy plastic. It feels a little bit heavier than what you might initially expect.

I really like that they have used the Poppy flower in the logo, its elegant and also gives this product an identity.

Picture 520.jpg

This contains 4 grams of product.

Picture 517

 

Formula

This is where this product really stands out since I love anything with a velvety texture when it comes to makeup.

What i love about this product is that it has that lovely matte velvety finish that evens out the texture of my lips, making them look fuller and healthier with the added bonus of not drying my lips out as much as regular mattes do.

Thanks to this, it keeps this PH product from falling into the tacky and cheap connotation these products have garnered in people’s consciousness.

I also love the scent this has, which is honestly a little bit difficult for me to pin down but I would describe it as being smoky with a hint of spices.

 

Colour

In the tube it looks like a purplish black but when you first apply this it gives your lips a grayish cast, but after a few seconds the PH effect starts to work and it changes into a lovely dark pink with a strong undertone of purple.

Picture 519.jpg

I have not tried this product on my cheeks as I feel this shade, no matter how much I blended it out, would not look good on me+since it has a staining effect it scares me from using this product on my cheeks.

I also don’t think it would work well combined with foundations or other base products.

Picture 509.jpg

When first applied.

Picture 512.jpg

After a minute.

Picture 516

How it looks in daylight.

 

Wear

I love this products wear time. It lasts longer than most lip products and its partly because it also tint your lips the longer you have it on.

At most I can get a five-six hour wear with the actual product but the stain it leaves can last the day after.

 

Conclusion

This particular shade might not be to everyone’s taste but there are other shades in this range that might be more tempting.

If you like a nice velvet texture, non drying formula and lovely colour, easy on the go product then this might become a nice addition in your makeup collection.

I hope this shade never gets discontinued.

 

Leave a Reply

