Isadora Summer Collection 2017 – Blue Bliss

IsaDora: isadora; make-up; smink; cosmetic; kosmetik

Official picture from Isadora.

I just managed to snatch up some products from the new collection from Isadora.

This collection is in my opinion a nice fresh breath of air from Isadora . The last two-three years have been dominated by mauve, peach, pinks and nude shades, this is not necessarily a bad thing in my opinion when it is accompanied with a higher quality and innovative products but I have been missing some bright colours on other things than just nail polish.

I have to say that I love the colours making up this collection. Blue is always gorgeous whether you have blue, green or brown eyes you just need to find out which shades suits you the best and this collection has a great selection of blue so you are bound to find something to make your eyes sparkle.

xenia_bluebliss_18921_lr_rgb

Official picture from Isadora. I just love this picture so I had to have it in this post since it does give a nice presentation of this collection.

That the lip products feature shades with hints of orange in them is yet another great idea, they are meant to be sheer and give a slight gloss to the lips and combined with blue shades in the eye look it creates a nice balance. Remember blue and orange are complimentary colours.

This collection is made up by four lip balms with a slight hint of colour, two coloured mascaras, three nail polishes, one blush and five coloured pencils.

Personally speaking I like it when brands don’t feel the need to push out new products but rather takes an existing product with a lovely formula and extends that line with new colours or other variations.

I bought two products from this collection.

bluebliss_group_rgb

Official picture from Isadora showcasing some of this collections offerings.

 

Twist-Up Lip Balm #80 Sheer Melon

Picture 445.jpg

Description from Isadora:

Isadora Twist-Up Lip Balm protects and treats your lips with nourishing natural oils and with SPF15 (UVA/UVB). 50% of the formula is made up of natural oils such as sunflower oil, jojoba oil, pomegranate extract and camelina oil. Twist-Up Lip Balm is flavoured with raspberry aroma and is clinically tested and contains no perfume. Contains ca 15 gram of product.

The first thing of notice for me is the nice packaging. I like it when packaging feels sturdy and when lip products have the shade represented in the packaging, this lip balm has the cap representing the shade. I like it since it feels nice in my hand and the shape of the lip balm itself make sit easy to apply since it has a dome shape at the tip.

Picture 446.jpg

The formula is very nice and long-lasting for a lip balm, I am not shocked by this as I am quite familiar with a lot of the oils this is formulated with. It does not feel greasy on my lips as it sinks nicely in and does what Isadora claims its supposed to: nourish and treat.

I love the fact that this has a nice SPF with both UVA and UVB protection. It was much more common many years ago but in later years I’ve seen a decline in lip balms which offers protection against the sun. I don’t like that since lips are an area with quite sensitive skin and I feel it is important that people understand that and have the possibility to protect it.

The light tint this has is a very refreshing orange, it gives my lips a very healthy look thanks to the tint but also the slight glossiness this has. Sheer melon is the name of the shade I picked up and it perfectly describes the colour.

All in all this is a wonderful product and I might buy this in other shades. I am extremely picky when it comes to lip balms but this to me passed the test and left my lips feeling wonderfully hydrated and healthy.

Picture 499.jpg

 

Grand Volume Lash Color # 142 Aquatic

Picture 440.jpg

Description from Isadora:

Get fantastic volume and length combined with new eye-catching colours.

Use on all lashes for a dramatic and cool effect, or only on your bottom lashes or just the tips of your lashes for a hint of colour.

  • Super volume effect.
  • Flexible formula that let’s you build up volume
  • The specially designed wand lifts the lashes from root to tip and distribute the mascara evenly.
  • Defines and separates.
  • Lasts all day
  • Contains 9 ml of product.
  • Clinically tested and formulated without fragrance.

Picture 443.jpg

 

Packaging

This product is a colour variation of Grand Volume Lash Styler and they both feature the same wand but with one diference in packaging.

73178512311402-1-280x280

Grand Volume Lash Styler. Just to showcase difference in packaging.

That being that the Grand Volume Lash Color features an “open window” to the contents inside, I can understand why as this makes it easy to differentiate the versions available apart.

The shape of the packaging is the same otherwise, with gold accents and with a heavy sturdy feel to it. Some might find the packaging too clunky but I actually find myself liking it especially the tapered end where the wand is attached, I find it easier to control the wand since it helps me have a better grip.

Picture 441.jpg

Ingredients list.

Shade

I love this shade!

It is the most beautiful bright royal blue which pulls out more of the grey tones in my eyes. It really makes my eyes pop and give them a “cooler” tone and making them look brighter.

I believe this shade will look good on most people since royal blue has a tendency to go along with most complexions.

The pictures below is just the mascara and no eyeshadow or eyeshadow.

Picture 503

Picture 502

 

The wand

Picture 444.jpg

This mascara features a rubber wand with bristles placed at the sides of the wand.

On one side the bristles are equal height and on the other side the bristles are shorter in the middle.

I like it since I feel that it makes it easier to sculpt my lashes. In my opinion you get a lot of freedom with this wand to separate lashes while adding length and volume, I also noticed that it is easy to untangle lashes with this wand if you make a mistake.

One con is that since I have deep-set eyes this wand is a bit big and can, if I’m not careful enough, smear a bit on my eyelids but this is again due to me having deep set eyes.

Other people might not have to be as careful but I’m giving a heads-up.

 

Formula

The formula of this mascara is very wet but smooth at the same time.

Combined with the wand it works wonders for my lashes as I can go over my lashes with the wand without it clumping or drying too quickly, so I can sculpt as I go over them.

This formula also does not flake and it does last well throughout the day, keeping both volume, length and curl in place.

 

Verdict

I love this product.

It gives me length but with the added volume it keeps my lashes from looking “thin” but full.

This is what I always look for in my mascara since I feel that any mascara that only gives length has a tendency to look very weird. On the other hand volume mascaras has a tendency to make my lashes look too thick and stubby+clumpy.

This mascara on the other hands gives the best of both worlds and with the bonus of making it easy to sculpt my lashes.

I might be willing to buy the regular black version of this.

 

Conclusion

I feel that this is one of those collections that features products that’s going to suit most complexions. You are essentially bound to find something that’s going to look lovely on you.

It is a well-rounded collection in my opinion and I hope Isadora continues giving out smaller collections like this one.

 

Leave a Reply

