Geek Chic Cosmetics: Solid Scents

I bought four of these and as the name suggests they are solid and the company’s site states on their site, they differ from their liquid “sprites” with their warmer drydown, more subtle scent and longer wear.

Solid perfumes are something that I’ve been trying to get my hands on lately as I remember them being popular way back ago. They are generally much gentler to skin than alcohol based scents and also much economical in the long run.

Unfortunately they are difficult to come by but I’d really wish this type of perfume became normalised and common.

These come in a practical twist up tube containing net.wt  .07 oz and the price at the website is 3.49.

But how do these hold up?

 

Les femmes tragiques: Queen of shades

queen-of-shades-20

Description: Queen of Shades is a lush mixture of juicy jewels of pomegranate and sweet pearls of acai berry on a bed of sweet, fresh-cut roses, just opening their blossoms. Queen of Shades is a dark yet sweet floral fit for a queen.

Top notes: Fresh-cut roses
Middle notes: Fresh, juicy acai berry
Base notesTiny jewels of pomegranate

queen-of-shadesbottom2013

Well I do love the background story as Persephone is one of my favourite greek goddesses but this disappointed me.

The notes and the description made this seem like a “fresh” scent with some sweetness but what I got was instead an artificial candy smell that gave me a severe headache in under fifteen minutes.

Unfortunately for me I could not go home until three hours later and even when I did my best to wash it away, what happened was that it turned into pure sugar and I probably had to wash it off three times more to get the scent away.

I really wanted to like this but it is too sweet and cheap, and the so-called fresh roses are rotting and that’s the only thing “dark” about this scent.

Really disappointed and I believe there are few people who would like it.

 

Badasses of fiction: Executioner

executioner-20.jpg

Description: Executioner is very rich, and it.. well, it just smells like you’d imagine dark red would smell. Like a Victorian parlor, something ancient yet full of life.

Top notes: Deep, dark oakmoss and cool greens
Middle notes: Musk and gentle florals
Base notes: Gourmand of currant and sweet wine

executionerbottom2013

This one I was really excited for as the notes made this seem like a darker gourmand with some tartness to it.

On the first swipe of this the cool greens, which I believe is mint, are the dominant notes alongside with what I believe is the oakmoss and musk. It’s not bad but it is a scent I would call musty.

After awhile the top notes disappear and I’m left with the most powdery scent I’ve ever come across. It does become a little bit overbearing as it also smells “old” on me.

It is among the better ones of these but I feel that this scent is what i consider an old woman’s scent.

I won’t slam it completely though as I believe there will be some people who this would just smell amazing on, but I am not one of them.

I love the green notes in this though.

 

Badasses of fiction: Crazy loves company

crazy-loves-company-19

Description: Crazy Loves Company has an aura of warm amber and soft cocoa, but cotton candy and kettle corn come through clearly and red velvet cake rounds the whole thing out.

Top notes: Red Velvet Cake and sugary cotton candy
Middle notes:
Kettle corn and funnel cake
Base notes:
Amber, musks, and cocoa

crazylovesbottom2013

This I’ll admit was only bought because Harley Quinn is one of my favourite fictional characters of all time. I did not expect to like this at all since all the notes scream cloyingly sweet but surprisingly enough I find this one quite comfortable to wear.

Don’t misunderstand me this is quite a sweet scent but I still find it likeable for what it is. I believe it is the hint of a salty note that do make this in my opinion a wearable scent and I’m fond of amber no matter what.

It is very lovely and I’m pleasantly surprised since I thought I would hate this one.

I find this scent to be very rounded and whole bodied compared to most sweet candy scents I’ve tried.

 

Badasses of fiction: Quid Pro Quo

quid-pro-quo-19

Description: Quid Pro Quo just smells like high society. Like an Italian bakery in a library. It’s basically a gourmet of class.

Top notes: Dry, heady merlot mixed with sweet milk
Middle notes: Fresh baked baguette and crisp, fresh parchment/papyrus
Base notes: Warm vanilla and cool stone

quidproquobottom2013

This one I have a little bit of mixed feelings about.

Straight out of the tube, the scent reminds me of a lip balm I used when I was a child and its weirdly nostalgic.

It is a comfortable scent with warm notes and something cold lurking beneath. It certainly does have some gourmandy notes but they are not the stereotypically sweet notes that people associate with that fragrance group. These are very warm and rounded with a hint of tartness about them.

But the scent has also something cold about it which I believe is the notes that are refered to as cool stone and fresh parchment/papyrus. The last one also gives a drier feel to this fragrance which is welcome since it does not end up being powdery.

But too me this still falls behind a bit.

It ends up to me as a below average scent since it does smell like it could have been “blended” better if you get what i mean.

But in the end it is comfortable to me and very nostalgic, I enjoy wearing this at night when the temperature runs low.

 

Conclusion

I did not expect these to be super complex fragrances as they are extremely cheap.

My view on perfumes is that they don’t need to be “advanced” or complex in order to be good. Even perfumes with only two notes can still be better than most of what you can buy over the counter from designer brands.

But these do not cut that mark for me.

Yes I do actually like two of these, but I rarely reach for them and for me that is a clear sign that I won’t buy more of these or try out the other scents in the line.

To me these scents seem like the work of someone mixing perfumes for the first time or someone using low quality fragrance oils.

Again I did not expect the highest quality or craftmanship due to the price so I’m not slamming neither the company or the person crafting these scents. This is entirely on me as I knew what I possibly would get but I wanted to try them out still.

I have to say that I LOVE the formula itself.

It is quite non – greasy and it does not leave a residue which is a great thing with these solid perfumes. The company deserves all the praise for that as this is something a lot of people experience with solid perfumes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

