Aromaleigh Vault: Hydra Menagerie

Part of the Aromaleigh Vault series, where I look into my Aromaleigh collection and give my opinion on discontinued shades.

sidney_hall_-_uranias_mirror_-_noctua_corvus_crater_sextans_uranic3a6_hydra_felis_lupus_centaurus_antlia_pneumatica_argo_navis_and_pyxis_nautica

This was released in May 2015 as this month’s menagerie. This mini collection featured three eyeshadows and one blush inspired by the myth of the Hydra.

A very gorgeous collection indeed.

 

Hydra

hydra-grid___40559-1435927483-1280-1280

Official description:

The daughter of Ekhidna and Typhon, the Lernaean Hydra was an ancient serpent-like water monster with reptilian traits. It possessed many heads, and for each head cut off it grew two more. It had poisonous breath and blood so virulent that even its scent was deadly. The Hydra was conquered by the heroic Herakles while Karkinos, the crab, bit at his feet…Herakles dipped his arrows into the Hydra’s blood after vanquishing it, and used those poison arrows to conquer the Stymphalian Birds and the giant Geryon.

This shade is part of the Hydra Menagerie. The Menagerie is a new Aromaleigh project, where I’ll be formulating other shades and products to go with each month’s mythical creature. The Hydra Menagerie features three eyeshadow colors (“Hydra”, “Ekhidna” and “Karkinos”, and a purple blush (“Pharmakon”).

Color Description: A rich deep blue-violet base with an incredible color traveling duochrome that ranges from gold to green to teal as you move it under a light source.. Shown swatched over NYX cream eyeshadow base in skintone, photographed under a daylight lamp.

 

My opinion:

Not among my favourites but I like this one more than Ravenstag, which is the only Aromaleigh eyeshadow I’ve felt did not suit me at all.

My description of this shade will be the same as Aromaleigh with the exception that I feel that the base has a slight hint of green to it. This is one of those eyeshadows that really changes depending on light source and what you combine it with I feel.

The truth is that I don’t use this as often as I would like to.

But I’ve found out is a type of shade Aromaleigh do that often pops up in collections. Take the fact that it is quite similar to Ravenstag and I’ve seen others aswell.

These types of shades do not work that well with my complexion, but they are gorgeous on the right person and I do believe this one is going to be given away to someone who will cherish it.

I did my best trying to capture Hydra but the pictures came out grainy.

 

Pharmakon

pharmakon-grid___22814-1435927467-1280-1280_large

Official description:

Not found.

 

My opinion:

This is for me the perfect blush. It is a lovely  lavender with beautiful green shift that gives this an ethereal glow on skin.

I love it and I’m saddened that this has been disontinued since it is one of my favourite blushes and is really wearable for us with pale skin as it does soften to a bit more pink on skin depending on how much you sheer it out. In other words this might look like it a “scary” blush but it really isn’t depending on how you use it.

I do prefer this applied in a way that makes the lavender pop and the green shift with it.

Really saddened by the disconinuation but I’ve stocked up.

The swatch photos does not showcase the green shift as much and I did take them at different light sources. The sheered part does not showcase how it looks like on skin entirely, it came out too muddied.

 

One thought on “Aromaleigh Vault: Hydra Menagerie

Leave a Reply

